How the IRS travel ban works


Starting in 2018, the Transportation Safety Administration (TSA) will begin to require a REAL ID in order for a US citizen to board a US domestic flight. Most states issue IDs that comport to the REAL ID standards. However, a few don't. If you are a US citizen in a state that does not have a REAL ID, you will have to use your US passport or military ID (if you have one) in order to board.


If you do not have such an ID, you cannot fly. Or, to put it another way, you are banned.


Starting in 2017, the IRS will begin to revoke and deny passports for certain taxpayers who owe tax debts. For those US citizens who aren't military and lose their passport due to the IRS and don't have access to a REAL ID, this means their right to travel has been severely affected.


This is the list of states that do not issue IDs that comport with the REAL ID law, and hence citiznes living here will need a military ID or a passport to travel:


  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington


While our firm makes a large part of its revenue resolving IRS issues to avoid passport seizures, we still find this de facto rule that bans certain US citzens from flying to be a massive overreach.


More insight and commentary in the video below.


If you are concerned about a tax debt and are unsure if your passport will be affected, contact us. We can help. Call us at 888-727-8796 or email info@irsmedic.com.